Glenalmond school term calendar

Lent Term 2016

Saturday 13 February 2016
All Day Scotland Lacrosse: Regional Training (Fettes)
Wednesday 17 February 2016
14:30 Ardvreck Hockey U13A & B v Craigclowan (Glenalmond)
Friday 19 February 2016
All Day Science Trip, CERN, Geneva, until Mon 22nd February
Sunday 21 February 2016
All Day WEEK 7 (White)
21:30 Half Term Ends
Monday 22 February 2016
12:30 Academic Entrance Scholarships, until Wednesday 24th February
15:45 Clubs and Societies
Tuesday 23 February 2016
13:20 Confirmation Class: Introductory Meeting – Who is God? (Group 1)
15:00 Lacrosse: U15A & B, U14A & B XII v Fetttes (Glenalmon)
17:00 Health & Safety Meeting (Warden's Dining Room)
17:45 GCSE Fifth Form Drama Trip: The Crucible (Lyceum Theatre) EH3 9AX
18:00 Heads of Departments Meeting (Conference Room)
Wednesday 24 February 2016
12:00 Lower Sixth Lecture Series: Centigrade Questionnaires
18:30 Confirmation Class: Introductory Meeting – Who is God? (Group 2)
18:40 Junior Debating: Semi-finals Winner R1 v Matheson’s (Conference Room)
20:45 Chapel: Compline
Thursday 25 February 2016
All Day 1st XII at National Schools' Lacrosse Tournament (Surrey Sports Park, Guildford) GU2 7AD
09:00 All Rounder and Outstanding Talent Award Day (Conference Room)
13:20 Confirmation Class: Introductory Meeting – Who is God? (Group 3)
13:30 Lunchtime Concert (Recital Hall)
14:30 Cross-Country: Glenalmond Invitation Run
14:30 SISFA Football: 1st XI v Gordonstoun (Glenalmond)
16:00 Lacrosse: U15A, U14A & B XII v St George's (Away)
16:30 Boys' Hockey: U16 Select & U14A v Dundee High School (Away)
19:30 WBS Lecture Series: Jamie Whittle
Friday 26 February 2016
08:45 Fourth Form Art Trip (Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh)
09:00 Lower Sixth AS Working and Target Grades
14:00 Order of St John Festival of Youth Concert (Rehearsal) (Perth Concert Hall)
19:00 Borders OG Dinner, The Townhouse, Melrose TD6 9PQ
19:30 Order of St John Festival of Youth Concert (Perth Concert Hall)
Saturday 27 February 2016
09:00 Junior Entrance Tests for non CE Candidates and Art Scholarships (Conference Room)
13:30 Boys' Hockey: Junior Inter-House Tournament
14:30 Lacrosse: 3rd XII v Loretto (Away) EH21 7RE
14:30 Lacrosse: U15A & B, U14A & B XII v Loretto (Glenalmond)
14:30 SISFA Football: 1st XI v St Leonards (Away)
15:00 Boys' Hockey: Senior Inter-House Tournament
19:45 House Drama (Theatre)
Sunday 28 February 2016
All Day WEEK 8 (Blue)
All Day Chainsaw Course
10:00 Junior Schools Debating Competition
10:45 Chapel: Morning Prayer (Lent III) Preacher: The Rev’d Andrew Philip, Minister, Crieff Parish Church of Scotland
18:00 Music Scholars Concert (St Giles’ Cathedral, Edinburgh)
Monday 29 February 2016
15:45 Clubs and Societies
Tuesday 01 March 2016
13:20 Confirmation Class: Human Nature & Sin (Jesus Christ – Confession & Forgiveness) (Group 1)
14:00 Music Scholars perform for St Fillans Music Circle
15:45 Boys' Hockey: 1st XI v Stewart's Melville (Away)
17:00 Boys' Hockey: U15A XI v Stewart's Melville (Away)
Wednesday 02 March 2016
All Day Perform in Perth, until 19 March
08:45 World Book Day Book Fair (Library)
12:00 Lower Sixth Lecture Series: UCAS - The Personal Statement
14:30 Ardvreck Hockey U11A & B v Cargilfield (Glenalmond)
18:30 Confirmation Class: Human Nature & Sin (Jesus Christ – Confession & Forgiveness) (Group 2)
18:40 Junior Debating: Semi-finals Winner R2 v Winner R3 (Conference Room)
19:00 Pipe Band: McDiarmid Park, Perth
20:45 Chapel: Compline
Thursday 03 March 2016
All Day Scottish Schools' Ski Championships Final
10:30 World Book Day: Drop Everything And Read
10:30 Estates Committee Meeting
11:30 Estates Committee Meeting (Warden's Dining Room)
13:20 Confirmation Class: Human Nature & Sin (Jesus Christ – Confession & Forgiveness) (Group 3)
13:30 Lunchtime Concert (Recital Hall)
14:30 Cross-Country: Strathallan Race (Away)
14:30 SISFA Football: 1st XI v Dollar Academy (Glenalmond)
19:30 WBS Lecture Series: Dr Jess Nelson
Friday 04 March 2016
09:00 Upper Sixth A-level Working and Target Grades
10:00 Publication of Lower Sixth AS Working and Target Grades to the Parent Portal
Saturday 05 March 2016
07:45 EAL Pupils: IELTS Examination (Basil Paterson College, Edinburgh) EH2 4NA
14:00 Senior & Junior Inter-House Lacrosse
14:15 Boys' Hockey: 2nd & 3rd XI v Loretto (Glenalmond)
14:15 Boys' Hockey: U14A & B XI v Loretto (Away)
15:15 Boys' Hockey: U15A & B XI v Loretto (Away)
15:30 Boys' Hockey: 1st & 4th XI v Loretto (Glenalmond)
19:45 Sixth Form Social Evening (Moncrieff Centre)
Sunday 06 March 2016
All Day George Watson's Invitational Pipe Band Competition, EH10 5EG
All Day WEEK 9 (White)
All Day Chainsaw Course
10:45 Chapel: Morning Prayer (Lent IV) Preacher: The Rev’d Sarah Shaw, Curate, St Cuthbert’s, Colinton, Edinburgh
12:00 REHIS Food Hygiene Course (Conference Room)
13:00 Golf: OG's Match (Luffness Golf Club)
14:30 SISFA Football: 1st XI v Queen Victoria School (Glenalmond)
18:30 Organ Duets Recital – Henry Wallace OG & John Green (Chapel)
19:30 CCF Dinner (Conference Room)
Monday 07 March 2016
15:45 Clubs and Societies
16:00 Council Meeting (Conference Room)
Tuesday 08 March 2016
13:20 Confirmation Class: The Holy Spirit - Confirmation (Group 1)
14:00 U15A XII at U15 Lacrosse Tournament ( St Leonards)
14:00 U14A XII at U14 Lacrosse Tournament(St George's) EH12 6GB
17:45 Second and Third Form English trip: Goodnight Mr Tom (Theatre Royal Glasgow) G2 3qa
Wednesday 09 March 2016
12:00 Lower Sixth Lecture Series: Teenage Cancer Trust. Third Form also to attend
14:30 Lacrosse: Cargilfield Taster Day (Glenalmond)
18:30 Confirmation Class: The Holy Spirit - Confirmation (Group 2)
18:40 Junior Debating: Final (Recital Hall)
20:45 Chapel: Compline
Thursday 10 March 2016
All Day EAL pupils: FCE Candidates (Basil Paterson College, Edinburgh) EH2 4NA
13:20 Confirmation Class: The Holy Spirit - Confirmation (Group 3)
13:30 Lunchtime Concert (Recital Hall)
14:00 SCT & Ryden Rosebowl Tournaments (Glenalmond)
14:30 Boys' Hockey: 3rd XI v Strathallan (Away)
14:30 Boys' Hockey: 4th XI v Strathallan (Glenalmond)
14:30 Swimming: Glenalmond v Strathallan(Glenalmond)
14:30 Basketball: U18 v Strathallan (Away)
16:00 Intermediate Maths Olympiad (Room 21)
17:00 WBS Thinking Series
Friday 11 March 2016
All Day EAL pupils: FCE Candidates (Basil Paterson College, Edinburgh) EH2 4NA
09:00 Publication of A-level Working and Target Grades to the Parent and Pupil Portals
15:15 GCSE Options Presentation to Third Form Parents (Theatre)
15:45 Second and Third Form Parents' Meeting (Moncrieff Centre)
16:00 Leave Out Begins
20:00 Fundraising Dinner for South Africa Tour (Dining Hall)
Saturday 12 March 2016
All Day Dive Training Weekend for Montserrat trip, until 13 March (Glenalmond)
12:00 Cross-Country: Scottish Schools' Championships (Irvine)
Sunday 13 March 2016
All Day WEEK 10 (Blue)
11:30 Scottish Schools Pipe Band Championships, Broughton High School, EH4 1EG
21:00 Leave Out Ends
Monday 14 March 2016
15:45 Clubs and Societies
Tuesday 15 March 2016
13:20 Confirmation Class: The Church – The Creeds – The Ten Commandments (Group 1)
14:00 Boys' Hockey: Stewart's Melville U18 Sevens Tournament (Away)
Wednesday 16 March 2016
All Day Piping: Charity Event, Edinburgh tbc
12:00 Lower Sixth Lecture Series: Centigrade Feedback
18:30 Confirmation Class: The Church – The Creeds – The Ten Commandments (Group 2)
20:45 Chapel: Compline
Thursday 17 March 2016
08:45 Third Form Everybody Writes Day (Theatre)
13:20 Confirmation Class: The Church – The Creeds – The Ten Commandments (Group 3)
13:30 Lunchtime Concert (Recital Hall)
15:00 Swimming v Fettes & Loretto (Glenalmond)
15:00 Football: 1st XI v Fettes (Glenalmond)
16:30 Lacrosse: U15A, U14A & B XII v St George's (Glenalmond)
19:30 Junior Play (Theatre)
19:45 Perth Film Society: The Wonders (Perth Concert Hall)
Friday 18 March 2016
19:30 Junior Play (Theatre)
Saturday 19 March 2016
All Day Scottish Episcopal Church Historians’ Group
10:00 Scotland Lacrosse: Selection Weekend
14:30 Lacrosse: 1st, 2nd & 3rd XII v Fettes (Away)
14:30 Boys' Hockey: 2nd & 3rd XI v Fettes (Glenalmond)
14:30 Boys' Hockey: U14A & B XI v Fettes (Away)
14:30 Basketball: U18 v Fettes (Glenalmond)
15:00 Lacrosse: U15A & B, U14A & B XII v Fettes (Glenalmond)
15:30 Boys' Hockey: U15A & B XI v Fettes (Away)
15:45 Boys' Hockey: 1st & 4th XI v Fettes (Glenalmond)
19:30 Junior Play (Theatre)
Sunday 20 March 2016
All Day WEEK 11 (White)
10:45 Chapel: Holy Eucharist (Palm Sunday) – Preacher: The Chaplain Day Pupils to attend
13:30 Instrumental Festival (Recital Hall)
19:30 Spring Concert (Recital Hall)
Monday 21 March 2016
All Day Lower 6th Oxford and Cambridge Universities Student Conference
All Day Lower Sixth: Oxford and Cambridge Student Conference (Edinburgh Corn Exchange)
15:45 Clubs and Societies
Tuesday 22 March 2016
13:00 Golf: Pupils v Merchiston & Strathallan, at Gullane GC
14:30 Boys' Triathlon (Glenalmond)
Wednesday 23 March 2016
14:30 Lent Term Ends
Thursday 24 March 2016
19:45 Perth Film Society: Clouds of Sils Maria (Perth Concert Hall)
Sunday 27 March 2016
All Day Easter Sunday
10:00 Chapel: Easter Day Holy Eucharist – Preacher: The Chaplain
Monday 28 March 2016
All Day Sixth Form French Trip (Nice) until 01 April
Tuesday 19 April 2016
All Day WEEK 1 (Blue)
19:00 Trinity Term Begins
Thursday 21 April 2016
14:30 Cricket: 1st XI & U15A XI v Loretto (Twenty/20)(Glenalmond)
Saturday 23 April 2016
10:15 Cricket: HMC Scottish T20 Cup (1st XI) (Away)
14:00 Cricket: U15A & B, U14A XI v Merchiston Castle (Glenalmond)
14:00 Cricket: 2nd XI v Merchiston Castle (Away)
Sunday 24 April 2016
All Day WEEK 2 (White)
All Day Chainsaw Course
Tuesday 26 April 2016
11:30 Cricket: 1st XI v MCC (Glenalmond)
14:00 Cricket: U14A XI v Arbroath CC (Glenalmond)
Thursday 28 April 2016
13:20 Confirmation Class: Living as a Christian – The Bible, Prayer & Worship (Group 3)
Saturday 30 April 2016
14:30 Cricket: 1st XI, U14A & B XI v Fettes (Glenalmond)
14:30 Cricket: 2nd, 3rd & U15A & B XI v Fettes (Away)
Sunday 01 May 2016
All Day WEEK 3 (Blue)
All Day Chainsaw Course
13:30 Cricket: 1st XI v OG XI (Glenalmond)
Tuesday 03 May 2016
14:00 Cricket: 1st XI v Merchiston Castle (Twenty/20) (Away)
Wednesday 04 May 2016
18:30 Confirmation Class: The Eucharist (and the other Sacraments) (Group 2)
Thursday 05 May 2016
14:30 Cricket: U15A & B and U14B XI v George Watson's (Away)
Friday 06 May 2016
16:30 Leave Out Begins
Sunday 08 May 2016
All Day WEEK 4 (White)
21:30 Leave Out Ends
Tuesday 10 May 2016
14:30 Cricket: U15A & B, U14A XI v George Watson's (Glenalmond)
14:30 Cricket: 1st & 2nd XI v George Watson's (Away)
Saturday 14 May 2016
10:00 Cricket: 1st & Junior B & C XI v Dollar (Glenalmond)
10:00 Cricket: 2nd & Junior A XI v Dollar (Away)
Sunday 15 May 2016
All Day WEEK 5 (Blue)
12:00 Cricket: Glenalmond U11 Cricket Sixes (Glenalmond)
Monday 16 May 2016
All Day GCSE & GCE (AS & A2) Examinations begin (see website for details)
Tuesday 17 May 2016
14:30 Cricket: U14A XI v Arbroath High School (Away)
Wednesday 18 May 2016
13:00 Cricket: Glenalmond U13 Cricket Sixes (Glenalmond)
Saturday 21 May 2016
11:30 Cricket: 1st XI v Strathallan (Away)
14:00 Cricket: 2nd, U15A & B XI v Strathallan (Glenalmond)
14:00 Cricket: U14A & B XI v Strathallan (Glenalmond)
Sunday 22 May 2016
All Day WEEK 6 (White)
Tuesday 24 May 2016
14:30 Cricket: U15A/B & U14A/B XI v Robert Gordon's (Away)
Friday 27 May 2016
16:00 Half Term Begins